The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society





It’s almost Christmas! Hooray! Can’t wait!

Just finished with Mary Ann Shaffer&Annie Barrows’ The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Society — such an amazing, warm book! Recommend to everyone! Got so disappointed it actually had to end, I could have read about Juliet and Kit and Guernsey (I’m so going to visit that island in April, just saying!) for ever! Now I have Jojo Myles’ The Last Letter From Your Lover and David Nicholls’ One Day on my bedside table – I’m waiting for some new Belle de Jour and Ian McEwan to continue with after the feast days…

Should be doing schedules concerning the preparing for the final exams and really start revising – but I’ll have time. In 2012. This week I’m just going to enjoy my holiday, eat lots of chocolate, drink some white wine&tea and read proper quality books! Spend time in my bed, at home, with my family.
Wander around and be nervous about the university — what if I don’t get in? What if my English is too poor and they won’t want to have anything to do with me? Or if my grades aren’t good enough? Gosh, I try not to think about the bad stuff and hold my head up high and have some faith in myself. I will get in, right? Because I really, really want to study Film&Media, Journalism and English at Stirling. I want to produce TV series, be a freelance journalist and photographer, write columns and maybe a novel one day. I want to write scripts, direct a play or an episode of some kind – want to live near the sea, smell the salt and run across the fields with the children.

I want to do things I love. I’m willing to do whatever it takes to get to the beaches of Cornwall and live in a cute stone cottage with that rose garden and stone fence.

And I will get there. Just watch me.

4 thoughts on “The Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society

  1. katharinetrauger says:

    I second that! Great shots. But . . . what is the first one? The moon? How DID you do that? Loved them all.
    And your English, my DEAR, is very, very good in writing. Surely they will not disqualify you for that!!!

    • Matleena says:

      It’s not the moon, to be honest – thought so first myself! But it’s light from a window of a house nearby – very clever, don’t you think? Anyway, thank you for your kind words:) Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

