The perfect pizza

I’m so proud of myself – my first gluten-free mushroom-salmon-wild herb-pizza! It looks so nice (and tastes also!) – I’m afraid I won’t be able to eat it, as I just keep on looking at it with wonder. I haven’t had a pizza for a long, long time. Mostly because restaurants do not have gluten-free options and well, it hasn’t really suited my diet – most pizzas are full of saturated fat and have awfully lot of carbs in them. That’s why I love to cook – you can make healthier choices (choose lighter cheeses, skimmed milk etc) and you know what’s really on your plate.

15 thoughts on “The perfect pizza

    • Matleena says:

      I’ll be eating it for the next week – it’s quite huge for only one person who doesn’t need that much food😀 And I’m glad you like them and that you care to tell me it again xx

  1. katharinetrauger says:

    Girl, I proud of you, too! Way to go! You DO have a domestic streak!😉
    And your reason for cooking is very like mine: I wanted to know what was on my children’s plates when I first dedicated myself to real-food cooking. I’m sure you can get that!
    I never would have thought of fish for pizza, though. Are the herbs rather traditional “Italian” types?

    • Matleena says:

      I’ve been cooking since I was 10 years old – we’ve never eaten anything else than ‘real food’; as my mom studied when we were all young it was the cheapest way to provide proper dinners to a family of 5🙂 I wanted to try how cold-smoked salmon would work in a pizza and it was delicious! Also, I actually went to the forest and picked a tiny stinging nettle and some common wood sorrels to put on the top of the fish. Cheap and very organic – yummy!

    • Matleena says:

      You should try it sometime too!

      That is so true – it’s so sad how people are ‘so busy’ with everything these days that they eat only microwave/frozen meals, full of salt and saturated fat when they could make a quick, tasty, much healthier and cheaper pasta bolognese in 10 minutes. As I’ll live on a very tight budget for the next few years (or months, depending on how quickly I’ll find a job that fits my studies) I’m determined to do as much as I can myself – grow some herbs on my windowsill, buy loose fresh vegetables, make my own bread&pasta etc… Much fun🙂

  2. marialla says:

    Congratulations! You are right about when you make your own food. Indeed you know exactly what you put in and everything your can actually read. It seems to me that your have some pretty good food sense and hence are not a bad cook. Who knows – as time goes by you will find different ways to make more of your favourite dishes (especially the ones you have not had for a long time!!). Good luck and thank you.

Leave a Reply

