Like you hit me with lightning

Hey you all and you are a big lot these days!

(Honestly, how are over 3,100 people interested in my life?! Absolutely MENTAL, I’m really not that interesting. And I mean it, I have been barely posting for the last year or so!)

Tonight I’m really really bored. Finished my final piece of coursework – English essay, 2,500 words and somehow I broke a personal record writing it under 72 hours. Hopefully it’ll help me to achieve a pass, this semester’s literature module has been… well let’s just say the adjective I’d use to describe would start with a ‘s’.  But now it’s done and after a really busy, stressful autumn it’s nice to be bored. If that makes any sense. I’ve come to realise that if I ever want to be a good teacher, I really need to drop educational studies and focus fully on my subject – English, that is. Which is fine, I really like it (normally). Got 3 full modules of writing this spring! Or I don’t really believe we are going to be writing anything, more like to focus on the historical aspects of Scottish literature, what it has to do with identity and then there’s a module on writing&language I’m dreading ’cause I’m not a fan of linguistics. Too difficult, too.. blah. But, I won’t judge a book by its covers so I’ll keep positive!

So, having finished that essay and needing to save money for Finland – I’m taking Michael over for a few weeks starting next Tuesday and I’m dreading there’s not going to be much snow around, yikes! – I’ve been having a lounge floor party with nail varnish, popcorn, candles and Ellie Goulding. Got my hands on her iTunes session tracks and if you’re not already loving that girl, you will after the acoustic Starry Eyed. Went to see her live in October, one of the best nights of the year for sure! So all in all it’s been a boring but in the end quite enjoyable evening.

Going to see a few girls tomorrow for coffee and lunch and then we’re going for Christmas dinner to my absolute favourite restaurant-bar in Glasgow, Vespbar with Michael. Stand-up afterwards in the same venue, just downstairs. Oh the cocktails and Prosecco on tap… And the pizza is gorgeous. If you’re in Glasgow, please please go! You won’t be disappointed!

What else is going on. I really hope someone else is reading this than my mum – hi mum! – ’cause she won’t understand half of it anyway. Well not much. Hosting a wee Christmas get together for a few people on Sunday. All I have in the cupboard is Dorritos. Need to go to the shop on Saturday, I reckon.

Hope everyone  is having a great week so far! Thanks for following me, sorry for the lack of posts lately and would love to hear what you’ve been up to!

Mattie xx

4 thoughts on “Like you hit me with lightning

Leave a Reply

